New members join Learning Community Coordinating Council

The twelve-member Coordinating Council of the Learning Community of Douglas and Sarpy Counties welcomes some new faces. In Subcouncil 1: Bradley Ekwerekwu and Brian Thommes, Subcouncil 3: Mark Hoeger and Melinda Kozel and Subcouncil 5: Anayeli Martinez-Real. Tonya Ward was also re-elected in Subcouncil 5. Coordinating Council officers elected for 2019: Susan Kelley, Council Chair; Allen Hager, Vice-Chair; Jill Woodward, Secretary and Carol Hahn, Treasurer.
The Learning Community creates valuable opportunities for children and families to challenge the opportunity gap. CEO David Patton says the new Council has a strong foundation to expand successful programs in the year ahead.

About the Learning Community of Douglas and Sarpy Counties
The Learning Community of Douglas and Sarpy Counties is an educational subdivision focused on outcomes and opportunities for children and families. It achieves impact through a collaborative network of metropolitan area school districts and community organizations. Independent evaluations demonstrate consistently strong results in early childhood education and family engagement.
Recognized nationally for advancing a two-generation approach, the Learning Community creates opportunities to address the needs of children and families together. A 12-member Coordinating Council, elected by the public, guides policies which challenge the opportunity gap and strengthen our communities. Visit: